top of page
Search

Simple Gifts From Our Beach

It’s the Monday after Christmas and most shops are closed; however, Sergio is at his work on the Angra Praia. I assume his labor is of love and he is not paid, and this only increases the value of his work to me. Over the last fifteen months of swimming in the Angra bay, I have observed Sergio in action for hours each day, almost daily. His murals in the sand often reflect global or national events in a timely manner. For example, the most memorable for me was the 24th day of February 2022, when Russia invaded Ukraine in the major escalation of the Russo-Ukrainian War, which had begun in 2014. I had just heard the alarming news in the morning and was still trying to swallow it. I walked down to the boardwalk then leaned over the wall to check the swimability of the sea. Instead, I was positively pierced by the mural of support for Ukraine. On other occasions I have followed the progress of Portugal in the World Cup, or learned my first words in Portuguese, such as Páscoa (Easter) or Feliz (Happy).





On this day, the afternoon creation is of flowers. I imagine the peaceful array may be in anticipation of the New Year. Under the beautiful blue sky and sun it glistens with hope. Local Portuguese families and single traveling tourists pause and peer over the wall and take photos. Some shout out hello or try to get his attention. Often he turns to smile, returning a friendly hello, to strangers. I wonder, How many of us have enjoyed these murals? How many photos have been shared around the world? What can we learn from these generously made and simple works of art and friendly hello?


64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page