top of page
Search

Our Library

Updated: Nov 28, 2022

Stepping into the entrance of our regional library, the Biblioteca Publica e Arquivo Regional Luis Da Silva Ribeiro (BPARLSR), I'm bathed in diffused light and instantly transported into my imagination. I wonder--Who designed this space? What were the deliberations that took place to decide its tricky, but auspicious location? Who maintains the welcoming entrance with the variety of small plants that spright and delight along the gray tiles at my feet? What will I find inside? It is this later question that is the focus of my mission today. I am fortunate to be guided personally by Maria Fatima Borba, Tec Superior, E Arquivo Regional, and her colleague, João Félix, who will translate for us.



Following the golden wooden floors into a large open grand room, I first notice the quality of daylight and high ceilings. Next, my attention is drawn to the space that has been dressed with a grand piano, mini auditorium, and warmly smiling librarian. This first impression gives me, the visitor, the overall feeling that this library has been designed as a modern library—it is a community gathering space for learning of many kinds. Next, I wonder about the ages of the frequent users. Will this space be only visited by older citizens? Who are the people that are able to climb the steep hill? Or figure out where to park their car along the maze of narrow one-way streets? Then to my pleasant surprise I see a great variety of young people: a class-sized group is gathered for a story in the children's section, another group will attend a weekend art workshop that will take place during ”Semana Criativa”, teenagers are actively gathered at individual computer stations on the first floor, young adults and university students are working at computers on the second floor, individual readers are nestled in quiet nooks and comfortable sofas surrounded by artwork, and individual researchers peer over thick hardbound archival journals. The overall mood of the library is inspiring. There is a gentle fusion of well lit and creatively designed space, with functionality. I suspect that the warm ambiance has a lot to do with the collegial collaboration and professionalism of the workers. I decided that this will be a place I will visit again soon.





However, I’m embarrassed to admit that this is my first visit. What took me so long to get here? Even as a lover of books and library devotee, it’s taken me over a year to find my way to this gemstone. Had I assumed as a reader of English that there would be little for me of interest here? Was I uncertain of the location? Had I doubted that there could be such an international quality of a building and resources? If so, I was gravely mistaken.


The BPARLSR library captures many design elements of great libraries I’ve visited in the last few years, while at the same time also offering something special and unique. For example, the variety of activities on display reminds me of the Forum in Groningen (http://libraryranking.com/review/forum-groningen-groningen, Netherlands that I visited several times. The impressively organized and preserved manuscripts that are displayed behind glass, or meticulously stored within enormous enclosed airtight bookcases, along with the stunning sea views through glass windows, reminds me of the exquisite Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center of Athens, Greece that was relocated in 2018 along the Phaleron Bay. Finally, I didn’t expect this library to remind me of the great library of Alexandria, Egypt, with its substantial collection of books in many languages and signature quality of natural light, but it did.


Since this first tour a couple weeks ago, I’ve already revisited five times for a variety of reasons. In fact, I’ve written this article from a computer on the second floor while enjoying a diffused view of Mount Brasil. As I leave, I will take another peak of my favorite building, the Direccao Regional da Cultura, and the Ave Maria church. More importantly, I will also give my greetings to the kind worker who found five books for me to personally enjoy and check out.



A few facts I learned from Ms. Maria Fatima Borba after my visit:

  1. The Luís da Silva Ribeiro Regional Public Library and Archive is a peripheral service of the Regional Directorate of Culture, which is part of the structure of the Regional Government of the Azores and its area of ​​action goes beyond the municipality of Angra do Heroísmo, since as District archive includes the islands of Graciosa and São Jorge. Collecting, processing and disseminating information is its mission.The archive section incorporates the documentation produced by the central administration services of the respective area (civil registry offices, notary and court registry offices), documents from outgoing services and companies, etc.

  2. The library opened on September 16, 2016.

  3. The Luís da Silva Ribeiro Public Library and Regional Archive is the regional library with legal deposit ( https://pt.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dep%C3%B3sit)

  4. The estimated quantity of books are as follows:

-Adult loan room has about 30000 for loan.

-The Children's Room has around 32,000 books for loan.

- Mobile Library has around 2000 children's and adult books for loan

- the foreign language fund available for borrowing by adults in the reading room has around

300 books, including in English.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page