top of page
Search

JUNE 29, 2022 Angra Insights: A Global Perspective From a New Resident


If I could live in any city anywhere in the world, I would choose to live in Angra do Heroismo, Ilha Terceira, Açores, Portugal. As an American educator of 30+ years, I have spent the last 17 years working as a teacher and principal in Zambia, Hungary, Morocco, Turkey, Kosovo, and the Netherlands. Based on these rich cultural and travel experiences, I can tell you that I am proud and grateful that my life’s journey has led me to the city center of Angra. The hand carved stones of its streets with friendly neighbors and yummy sweets, has tunneled a special pathway into my heart. I came to the Açores and the island of Terceira for the first time in 2017 and 2019 to visit with my best friend (whom I met in Kosovo while working as the director of the American School of Kosova), but it wasn’t until this last September, that I could dream of calling Angra Heroismo my home.


Since last September, I have been living in the city center in a rented apartment close to the bay of Angra. As I do not yet speak Portuguese, my employment opportunities are limited to teaching and coaching educators around the world in English through the internet from my apartment (https://visionaryed.org/). I have chosen to live very simply, without a car, so I can enjoy the slower pace of life that traveling by foot, bus, and borrowed car offers. In this way, I have also been able to observe the nuances of the city and its daily changes. In my earlier life in Oregon, U.S. I worked as an educator for 17 years with a background in the performing and fine arts, and served on the City Council of Eagle Point, Oregon for 3 years. These experiences also frame the view I see as I walk our streets.


Thus, it is with care and respect that I would like to share a few simple ideas for organizing our town as it grows. I hope that my good intentions are felt as you read these suggestions and that they are not viewed as criticisms.


  1. The pedestrian street of Rua da Palha gives a nostalgic feeling of a cozy European city. The section of the street with red umbrellas allows light and easy movement towards the end of the block but the cubicles of protected seating at the front of the block give a contrasting impression. My suggestion would be to offer financial support to the other restaurants so that they can replace the cubicles with umbrellas and restrict future development to the use of the cubicles only in the winter months from (November to March).

  2. The new information stands, as pictured above, provide helpful information. However, at the same time, their location near cigarette stands and garbage cans is not visually appealing. Moreover, the black frames covered in plastic canvas of historical information is an abrupt aesthetic contrast to the nearby historic lamp posts and handmade streets that border them. My suggestion is that we need the visual information to be more in sync with the historical architecture of the city.

  3. Also, I noticed that there has been an increase in tourists beginning in April along with the annual return of the jellyfish and caravellas. On one sunny day in April, I witnessed a teenage tourist exit the sea screaming as she was covered in caravella tentacles. There was no lifeguard on duty to help, so the girl showered herself with fresh water and this actually increased the toxins on her skin. According to João Pedro do Silva Ramos Barreiros, our local marine biologist, we should only use fresh salt water after being stung by a caravela (Animais Marinhos Dos Açores; Perigosos E Venenosos, 2007). My suggestion is to place a lifeguard on the Bay of Angra from April 1 until October 1.

  4. Lastly, and most significantly for me, I discovered last week that my favorite sitting place on the entire island has been removed. At the far end of a foot trail on Monte Brasil, there used to be a wooden bench that faced the open sea. At least once a week, I spent an hour sitting on it and contemplating life and what I would be writing next. Many times, I met visiting tourists who were also welcomed by the bench and the fresh sea breeze; the atmosphere seemed to lift and connect our spirits. I also suggested to them favorite hiking trails or restaurants on the island. As a global citizen accustomed to random change, I must admit that this change deeply surprised and saddened me. I’m only hoping that a new “better” bench is being organized as a replacement and will be installed soon.



In closing I would like to say that I feel very privileged to live in our beautiful UNESCO World Heritage City. From the wonderful MAH museum to the Sé Catedral do Angra do Heroismo, and the Mercado Duque de Bragança, somehow I experience a connection with all the places in the world I’ve traveled. At the same time I also feel a great sense of safety, Mostly though I feel grateful to be a part of this special community where I am able to express myself in writing to you today. Thank you DI for this opportunity!


If you would like to read more about my personal experiences living on the island and understand why I love it here so much, please feel free to check out my blog:



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page